Committed to 13.1

I did it. I just registered for the upcoming Kentucky Derby Festival Mini-marathon on April 24th in Louisville, KY.   The commitment to run 13.1 miles requires lots of training, time, and determination to see it through to the finish.   I’ve completed this race over a handful of times over the years, and I’ve always been more of a natural runner where I can go out without putting in the miles, but no longer.   As I get older, I’m realizing the body can’t perform like it used to and I shouldn’t ask it to either.

I’m excited about this race because I see it as a milestone for getting my body back into shape.  I have roughly 3 months to train.  Immediately I need to start running more consistently, following a plan, watching the foods I eat, and drinking more water.  Over the last 2 years I’ve gained 20 pounds and I’d really like to see 15 pounds lost before the race.   Can I do it?   I believe I can.   I’ll keep you all posted on my progress over the next 12 weeks or so.

While I’m off training, ask yourself a few questions…

What have you committed to lately?

How would your life be different if you did?

What would you benefit from by saying yes?

Jason (WLK)

1 Comment

Filed under @Life

One response to “Committed to 13.1

  1. barrymmartin

    I know you can do it! I wish you the best. I ran the mini a few year back and to be honest….. I hate running! But for those that like it, I support you!

Leave a Reply

